I Had A Sister Once.

I had a sister once,
She was an African – Yes a black woman,
She had beautiful dark chocolate skin,
Mama loved her,We all adored her,
I looked up to her and wanted to grow up to be just like her.
She was so confident and comfortable in her skin,
Well – Until she was told she could be the “face of Mzanzi”.

I had a sister once,
She was told she was too black – Oopz,I mean dark,
Too dark to be on the camera,
Too dark to be loved,
Too dark she could model and be the “face of Mzanzi”,
Too dark to even be looked at.

I had a sister once,
She changed,
Face became lighter – She said its because she’d been indoors.
Arms became lighter – She said its because she’d been wearing long sleeves.
Legs became lighter – She said its because she’d been wearing long pants.

I had a sister once,
She was an African – Yes a black woman,
She won – Became the “face of Mzanzi”,
She was a celebrity,
She had money – Lots of it.
She changed our lives at home,
I was happy for her …
Mama saw her only once with all the changes,
Mama died – Her dark beautiful daughter was now a blonde !!

Stay Blessed : Dee 🙂

Leave a Reply

