My name
Dieketseng Makeresemese Ntheli

Look what they have done to my name . . .
The wonderful name of my great-great-grandmothers
Dieketseng Makeresemese Ntheli

The burly bureaucrat was surprised.
What he heard was music to his ears
‘Wat is daai, sê nou weer?’
‘I am from the land ya baKgatla kwana heso Namahadi
I hail from Witsieshoek (Qwaqwa)
And my name is Dieketseng Makeresemese Ntheli

Messia,Help me!
My name is so simple
and yet so meaningful,
but to this man it is trash . . .

He gives me a name
Convenient enough to answer his whim:
I end up being
Maria  –
I . . .
Dieketseng Makeresemese Ntheli

https://poetessdeeblog.wordpress.com/
@Dee_Nthedi

Original piece by : Magoleng wa Selepe

Stay Blessed : Dee 🙂

Leave a Reply

